HALP! Need musical assistance

trash panda

---m(O.O)gle---
AKA
Howl
I am looking into purchasing a new instrument as well as some recording equipment. I’ve already surpassed the Blue Yeti and I have my heart set on the Rode NT1A microphone. I’ve also chosen Acoustica Mixcraft 6 as my mixing program. I already have Garage Band.

^ I haven’t purchased either of these yet so stop me in my tracks if you think there’s something better. :kermit:

Some things:
I’m very new to music (only semi-familiar with keyboards and I already have a keyboard so I am not looking for that). I would like some other instrument recommendations either based on your own personal experience or just…idk the the sound or versatility. This is purely a therapeutic thing I’ve chosen to do but I would like to become learned enough to make nice purdy sounds to share with people. :)

I do have a budget for my instrument purchase, which is $300. I prefer to buy used things, so if you have a recommendation, please make sure that it is less than $1000 so that there is the potential for me to find it used within my price range. :D

Flintlock

Pro Adventurer
I have a Røde NT-USB microphone and I've been very happy with it. That, plus all the reviews I've read, leads me to think it's a good brand. A bit pricey though.

RedFFWolf

Donator
I believe you're getting (or have already gotten) a really good Yamaha keyboard?
I guess test a few of the instruments out on the keyboard. You might find some instruments you really enjoy the sound of, but in fact lack the qualities on the keyboard. For example, I really came to enjoy the pan flute through the Yamaha, but found it doesn't come close to the authentic sound, whereas with VSTs (such as what you can use easily between your keyboard [which will act as your MIDI controller] and Acoustica Mixcraft 6) some may be more than enough as a VST or even from the keyboard (as I found with a harp, for example).